Annual Day Celebration and Prize Distribution Ceremony 

St Joseph Vaz College, Cortalim celebrated its Annual Day and Prize Distribution ceremony on 20th April 2023. The programme started with a prayer service followed by the Administrators address. In his address Rev. Prof. Simao Diniz congratulated the students for their achievements throughout the academic year. He also highlighted the importance of participating in various events to develop a student’s overall personality. Dr Maria Fonseca the Principal of the college then read out the annual report of the academic year 2022-23. This was followed by a traditional Goan dance performance by the students.

Subsequently the most awaited time of the evening the prize distribution ceremony arrived. Various prizes for intra mural events, inter collegiate events and annual honors were awarded to the students and alumni of the college. Medals and certificates were presented to the students for the intra mural events which were plate painting, lower arrangement, quiz, power point presentation, bookmark, e-quiz, rangoli, water conservation, kheer making, mehndi, badminton men and women, table tennis men and women, badminton doubles, chess men and women, futsal men, tie breaker women, cricket mean and women, carom men and women competitions. 

A memento was also handed to the students who won prizes at the inter collegiate and national level. The students who received these mementos were Umesh Padasalimani (Taekwondo silver medalist and Cycling Bronze medalist), Shreya Mulik (Deadlift Gold medalist), Enid Dias (Deadlift Silver medalist), Samruddhi Naik (Deadlift Bronze medalist), Rishikesh Fadte (Cycling Bronze medalist), Sunny Raut (Cycling Bronze medalist), Sharif Ansari (Cycling Bronze medalist), Dishant Kankonkar (Cycling Bronze medalist), Rutik Parab (Cycling Bronze medalist), Ashish Gupta (Cycling Bronze medalist), Amit Naik (Cycling Bronze medalist), Shubham Gauns (Cycling Bronze medalist), Shivam Saroj (Poster competition on evolution of mathematics silver medalist), Mervin Fernandes (Poster competition on evolution of mathematics silver medalist), Ainsley Azavedo (Poster competition on evolution of mathematics silver medalist) and Britto Pereira (Gold Medalist and Best Striker  at West Zone Inter University Football Championship, Captain of Goa University Football team).